County U/21 Title – A First for the Club 2001 – 2003


In 2001 The Junior Football team took part in the “A” grade but made no impression while the Intermediate teams fared no better.

The Minor Hurling team returned to the “B” grade but made no progress.

For many years the County Board Draw plays a major role in financing the Club’s activities.

On the Juvenile front there was a price to pay for the previous year’s success when those teams had to compete in higher grades. Most of them performed very well but failed to reach the Finals.

In 2002 the Minor Football team reached the Semi Final. Two missed penalties proved costly and they lost by 2-7 to 2-5.

The U/21 Football team were defeated by Ballyporeen after a replay in the “B” Semi Final.

The Intermediate Football team lost to Killenaule by a point. In the County championship they lost to Newport in the Quarter Final stage.

The Minor Hurling team qualified for the “B” Final but lost to Carrick Davins by 3-15 to 2-8.

TEAM: Jim Healy, David Hanrahan, Niall Walsh, Shane Geoghegan, Michael Foley, Tommy Ryan, Keith Condon, Senan O’Halloran 0-4, Eoin Ryan (K) 0-2, Daire Corcoran, Eoin Ryan (B), Anthony Walsh 0-1, Michael Mc Hugh 2-1, Oisin O Cuinneagain and Patrick Walsh.

SUB: Barry Cloona.

The Junior Hurling team won two and drew three of their matches. As often happens the best players were wanted for the Intermediate Hurling and they made no further progress.

In Hurling the Intermediate team lost to Cahir by 2-12 to 2-8 in the Semi Final, having already beaten them by 1-14 to 1-7 in the league stages.

TEAM: Liam Robinson, Noel Ryan, Dan O’Connor, Johnny Cahill, Pat Hickey, William Larkin 0-1, Martin Larkin, John Roche, Paddy Nugent, Adrian Walsh 0-1, Willie Ryan 0-1, Pakie Larkin, Sean Nugent 1-6, Joe Ryan and Liam Stokes.

SUBS: Niall Cloona 1-0 and Jimmy Ryan .

Seamus Roche was coming to prominence on the refereeing scene and was “Man in the Middle” for several Inter County matches.

Tommy Lonergan acted as umpire for Brian White at the International Rules match Ireland V Australia in Croke Park.

For many years David Keyes has been doing an excellent job in repairing hurleys.

There was a new fund raising venture namely “Want to be a Thousandaire” based on the TV programme “Who wants to be a Millionaire” doing the rounds. This event was held in Hotel Minella and generated €20,000 which went to clear the debt on the Clubhouse.

There was an upsurge of interest in Camogie where Billy Stokes together with Jim & Laura Healy were the main organisers.

On the Juvenile front, it was one of the quieter years with no Final appearances.

The Summer Camp organised by John Burns continues to go from strength to strength with several GAA personalities in attendance.

County U/21 Title – A First for the Club

In Hurling in 2003 the Minor team showed promise. The only match they lost was to St Patrick’s. In the Semi Final they were again drawn against St Pats and went down by 2-11 to 0-2.

The Intermediate team reached the Semi Final but lost to Fethard by 1-13 to 1-11.

TEAM: Liam Robinson, Michael Ryan, Dan O’Connor, Noel Ryan, William Larkin, Willie Ryan, Martin Larkin 0-1, John Roche 0-1, Tony Walsh, Tommy Ryan 0-2, Adrian Walsh 0-4, Niall Cloona, Jimmy Ryan, Tom Sheil 0-1 and Joe Ryan.

SUBS: Sean Nugent 0-2, Pakie Larkin 1-0, Eoin Ryan (B) and Keith Condon.

In Football the U/21 team reached the “B” Final where they defeated Carrick Davins by 1-10 to 0-8. This was the Club’s first ever Title in this Grade.

TEAM: Stephen Mc Grath, Niall Walsh, Oisin O Cuinneagain, Peter O’Connell, Christy Ryan, Jimmy Ryan, Tommy Ryan, Johnny Walsh, Anthony Walsh, Edmond Walsh, Pierce Larkin 0-3, Senan O’Halloran, Eoin Ryan (B), David Power 1-1 and Michael Mc Hugh 0-6.

SUBS: Shane Geoghegan for Anthony Walsh and Jim Healy for Shane Geoghegan .

In the County Semi Final they defeated Lattin-Cullen by 0-12 to 1-4.

SCORERS: Michael Mc Hugh 0-6, David Power and Pierce Larkin 0-2, Eoin Ryan (B) and Anthony Walsh 0-1 each.

The County Final was played in Cashel and our opponents were Gortnahoe-Glengoole. Excitement mounted in the week preceding the Final as the Club sought their first adult Title in 31 years. At half time they led by 0-7 to 0-5 after playing with the wind. In the second half they showed great determination and were soon in control and went on to win by 1-12 to 0-8. There were scenes of great jubilation when Johnny Walsh accepted the Cup from John Costigan Chairman of the County Board .

TEAM: Stephen Mc Grath, Niall Walsh, Oisin O Cuinneagain, Peter O’Connell, Christy Ryan, Jimmy Ryan, Tommy Ryan, Johnny Walsh Anthony Walsh 0-1, Michael Mc Hugh 0-7, Pierce Larkin 0-2, Pa Walsh 1-0, Eoin Ryan (B), David Power and Senan O’Halloran 0-2.

SUBS: Jim Healy for Senan O’Halloran and Edmond Walsh for Eoin Ryan.

Other members of the Panel were: Eoin Ryan (K), Shane Geoghegan, Tomas O’Dwyer and John Doolan.

The Junior Football team reached the Final but lost to Commercials by 0-12 to 1-8.

The Intermediate Football team qualified for the South Final where they defeated Killenaule by 2-9 to 1-7. After the match John Roche, who captained the side, was presented with the appropriately named John Kehoe Cup.

TEAM: Roger Doyle, Martin Larkin, Jimmy Ryan, William Larkin, Keith O’Brien, Willie Ryan, Aidan Slattery, John Roche, Tom Sheil 0-1, Pakie Larkin 1-0, Adrian Walsh 1-4, Edward Sweeney 0-1, Michael Mc Hugh 0-1, Michael Ryan 0-1 and Pierce Larkin 0-1.

Other members of Panel: Edward Colum, Keith Robinson, David Power, Aidan Slattery, Niall Cloona, Christy Ryan, Dan O’Connor and Johnny Walsh.

Earlier in the championship Kilsheelan defeated Grangemockler. In the County Semi Final they again met. This time it ended in a draw and in the replay Grangemockler won by 1-12 to 0-10.

Seamus Roche acted as linesman for the All Ireland Senior Hurling Final.

For the All Ireland Senior Football Final William Robinson, Tommy and Denis Lonergan acted as umpires for referee Brian White.

As a matter of interest Kilsheelan were the only Club in the country to have officials involved in both All Ireland Senior Finals.

Since last June all South and County Board correspondence is done by email.

In January Sean Nugent was elected Secretary of the South Board.

In Juvenile Football the U/12 team reached the “B” Final where Killenaule were waiting for them. Kilsheelan were somewhat lucky to win by 1-4 to 0-5.

TEAM: Joseph Brennan, Adrian Mc Guire, William Mc Guire, Alex Harte, David Corcoran, Donnchadh Corcoran, Shane Columby, David Ryan, Damien Mc Carthy 0-2, Conor Murphy, Stephen Ahearne, Yvonne Maher, Martin O’Dwyer, Damien Dempsey 0-2 and John Kehoe.

SUBS: Bill Maher 1-0, Stephen Ryan and Declan Cashman.

In the County Semi Final they met a physically stronger Newport side and went down by 2-8 to 0-4.

The U/14 Hurling team reached the Final which was against St Patricks and came with the honours by 2-3 to 1-1.

TEAM: Donnchadh Corcoran, Graham Bysouth, David Guriy, Paul Kennedy, Matthew Hantz, Lorcan Ryan, Darren Mc Carthy, Pádraic Hickey 1-1, Naoise O Cuinneagain, Paul Denn, Donnacha Lonergan 0-2, Riain O Cuinnagain, Danny Harte, David Ryan and Damien Mc Carthy 1-0.

SUBS: Michael Geraghty and William Mc Guire.

In the County Semi Final Kilsheelan met a star studded Borrisoleigh side and were beaten by 5-8 to 0-5.

Detailed reports on all games available under Match Reports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here