Kilsheelan Girl captains First All Ireland Senior Winning Camogie Team 1999-2000


Early in 1999 it was decided to change the name of the club to Kilsheelan-Kilcash and register as both a Hurling and Football Club. This ensured twice the voting rights and for big matches a greater allocation of tickets.

The Senior Football side were allowed to return to Intermediate status in but failed to reach the knockout stages.

For the Intermediate Hurling side there was always an air of expectancy but this optimism failed to materialise and they made an early exit. The next action was in Dublin when the team was invited to All Ireland Junior 7-A-Side at St Judes on the eve of the All Ireland Hurling Final. Kilsheelan defeated Grannagh of Limerick in the first match, lost to Kilbeacanty from Galwayand in the quarter Final lost to Bride Rovers.


The U/14 Football team won all their group games in impressive fashion. In the Final they met Fr Sheehy’s and were victors by 0-11 to 0-7.

TEAM: Keith Condon, William Walsh, Lee Doyle, Thomas Ryan, Ciaran Gibbs, Shane Geoghegan, David Hanrahan, Patrick Walsh 0-1, Michael Foley, Stephen Cloona, Eoin Ryan (K) 0-6, Michael Mc Hugh 0-2, Mark O’Halloran 0-1, James Nolan and Eoin Ryan (B) 0-2.

SUB: Patrick O’Halloran.

In the Semi Final Kilsheelan had little difficulty in defeating Solohead by 5-10 to 1-3.

The Final against Borrisoleigh took place in Clonoulty and a large following made the thirty mile journey. Kilsheelan dominated the first half and went on to win by 4-5 to 1-4.

SCORERS: Eoin Ryan (K) 2-1, Shane Crotty 2-0, Patrick Walsh, Michael Mc Hugh and Senan O’Halloran 0-1 each.

Oisin O Cuinneagain, who was Captain of the team, had to miss both Finals due to an eye injury.

The U/14 Hurling team defeated Moyle Rovers in the Semi Final after a replay. The Final against St Mary’s was their third match in a week. With time nearly up Eoin Ryan (K) shot the winning goal on a scoreline of 2-2 to 1-4. The team was almost identical to the football side.

SCORERS: Eoin Ryan (K) and James Nolan 1-0 each, Patrick Walsh and Michael Mc Hugh 0-1 each.

In the County Semi Final the team defeated Golden by 4-11 to 1-4. Dreams of a first ever County Hurling title were dashed when Gortnahoe-Glengoole won by 2-8 to 1-4 in the Final.

In the U/12 Hurling “B” Final Kilsheelan lost to St Patrick’s by 0-5 to 0-3.


Kilsheelan Girl captains First All Ireland Senior Winning Camogie Team

Sunday 5th September was a day to remember for Meadhbh Stokes when she captained Tipperary to victory to win their first ever All Ireland Senior Camogie Title. She showed her loyalty to Kilsheelan when along with the victorious team she brought the O'Duffy Cup to the village on Tuesday night to a rousing reception which young and old enjoyed in a carnival atmosphere. This was a proud night also for her father Billy who was Chairman of the Club then.

The new complex which included a Meeting Room, 4 Dressing Rooms, Referees Room, Kitchen, Ladies & Gents Toilets was opened on Bank Holiday Monday (25th October). The building cost €140,000 approx and was built by local man John Cloona. The opening was performed by the Chairman of the Munster Council Sean Kelly and blessed by Rev Fr Bill Carey P.P. with a big attendance present. This was followed by a Camogie Match, which was a repeat of the All Ireland Final Tipperary V Kilkenny and a hurling Match Tipperary V Waterford.

In 2000, the Junior Football team made the biggest impression. They won their way to the “B” Final where they defeated Clonmel Og by 0-9 to 0-4.

TEAM: Michael Dempsey, Nicky Coughlan, Jimmy Ryan, Derek Kennedy, Aidan Walsh, Richard Mc Mahon, Liam Geoghegan, Edmond Walsh, Seamus Roche, Christian Healy 0-2, Liam Robinson 0-3, Martin Ormonde 0-1, Sean Nugent, Brian Connolly 0-2 and Graham Loughman 0-1.

SUBS: Joe Ormonde, Edward Sweeney, Christy Ryan, Niall Cloona and Jerry Kehoe.

The County Semi Final against Eire Og- Annacarty ended in controversy. A late Kilsheelan goal was disallowed and they lost by 1-7 to 0-8.

SCORERS: Liam Robinson 0-4, Martin Ormonde 0-3 and Sean Nugent 0-1.

As holders of the “B” Title the Minor Hurling team had to move up to “A” grade but were out of their depth.

Neither of the Intermediate Hurling or Football teams made any impact.

The U/14 Football team played in the “A” competition for the first time and lost at the Semi Final stage.

The U/14 Hurling team went through the “B” competition unbeaten. In the Final they defeated Carrick Davins by 8-8 to 2-2 despite conceding a goal after thirty seconds.

TEAM: Ian Coughlan, Laura Healy, Shane Prendergast, Kieran White, George Stewart, Tommy Ryan, Niall Gibbs, Patrick Walsh 0-3, William Walsh, Barry Cloona, Michael Mc Hugh 3-2, Eoin Ryan (B) 0-2, Stephen Cloona 1-1, Michael O’Reilly 2-0 and Daire Corcoran 1-0.SUB: Aaron Burns 1-0.

Other Panalists: Eoin Twohig, Robert Henebry, Ross Larkin, Tracey Hanrahan, Conor Horgan and Brian Richards

In the County Semi Final Kilsheelan lost to Ballina by 2-4 to 1-5.

SCORERS: Stephen Cloona 1-0, Michael Mc Hugh and Eoin Ryan 0-2 and Patrick Walsh 0-1.

To mark the 75th Anniversary of the foundation of the Club a plaque was erected outside Paddy Walsh’s house where it all began



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here